Counting in Itláni

Language overview

Itláni is one of the five languages spoken on the planet Itlán, alongside Semerian, Djiran, Djanari and Lastulani. It has been developed by James E. Hopkins in his poems book Eden’s day and most recently in his novel Circle of the Lantern. Itláni has its own alphabet, named ta Datáb, which was created by the Itlani poet, storyteller, scholar and spiritual reformer, Rozh-Shpiláv. It is presently used in two forms: the square form known as chendifér or “stone-writing” used for print media, and a cursive form called yenifér or “sand-writing” used for most calligraphic art and for everyday writing by hand.

Due to lack of data, we can only count accurately up to 10 in Itláni. Please contact me if you can help me counting up from that limit.

Itláni numbers list

  • 1 – mú
  • 2 – zár
  • 3 – mín
  • 4 – tó
  • 5 – shím
  • 6 – bról
  • 7 – dán
  • 8 – yal
  • 9 – shá
  • 10 – mák

Itláni numbering rules

Now that you’ve had a gist of the most useful numbers, let’s move to the writing rules for the tens, the compound numbers, and why not the hundreds, the thousands and beyond (if possible).

  • Digits from one to nine are specific words: [1], zár [2], mín [3], [4], shím [5], bról [6], dán [7], yal [8], and shá [9].
  • The only documented ten is mák [10].

Write a number in full in Itláni

Let’s move now to the practice of the numbering rules in Itláni. Will you guess how to write a number in full? Enter a number and try to write it down in your head, or maybe on a piece of paper, before displaying the result.


Circle of the Lantern: An Annotated Translation of the Itláni Classic “Seyrán ta Tainaa” Circle of the Lantern: An Annotated Translation of the Itláni Classic “Seyrán ta Tainaa”
by , editors AuthorHouse (2015)

Eden’s day Eden’s day
by , editors AuthorHouse (2008)
[, Kindle - Kindle -]

Other artistic languages

Aczu Śavnecze, Aramteskan, Arodjun, Atlantean, Atrian, Ayeri, Azazilúŝ, Barsoomian, Bayën, Belter Creole, Brooding, Chakobsa, Dai, Dovahzul, D’ni, Elder Speech, Engála, Epigean, Giak, Gnóma, Grayis, Gryomian, Hiuʦɑθ, Hylian, Illitan, Ithkuil, Itláni, Kala, Kēlen, Kiitra, KiLiKi, Láadan, Mini, Mondir, Na’vi, Neziba, Nìmpyèshiu, Santaa, Shiväisith, Siinyamda, Toki Pona, Tpaalha, Trigedasleng, Tsevhu, Tüchte, Va Ehenív, Valthungian, Verdurian, Wardwesân, and Wóxtjanato.

Other supported languages

As the other currently supported languages are too numerous to list extensively here, please select a language from the full list of supported languages.